top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Service (S)

In this segment, I will be talking about my Service aspect of CAS.

1. Thai Army Military Training (ROTC)

September 2018 - February 2020

1. Identify your own strengths and develop areas for personal growth.

2. Demonstrate that challenges have been undertaken, developing new skills in the process.

4. Show commitment to and perseverance in CAS experiences.

5. Demonstrate the skills and recognize the benefits of working collaboratively.

7. Recognize and consider the ethics of choices and actions.

As part of being a Thai Citizen, during this time, I had to provide my country a service and dedicate myself training for the army every week. So, there was a lot of dedication and perseverance from my part that had to be done in order to make sure that I could complete my time at ROTC. I had to be there around 12 weeks every Saturday each year starting grade 10 until grade 12. But, during this time, even though it was such a bore for me mostly, I learned many things along the way. I learned things such as shooting a rifle in which I never thought I would have learned before having to join ROTC or "rodor" is what they call it in Thai. Now, if our country is under any crisis and lacks army personnel, they can call upon my battalion any time to come fight for the country. It was a long process and I have also gained many memories with my friends that were in ROTC with me that I will cherish.

2. Raising Funds for the Mercy Center through a Dodgeball Event at School December 14, 2018

4. Show commitment to and perseverance in CAS experiences.

5. Demonstrate the skills and recognize the benefits of working collaboratively.

6. Demonstrate engagement with issues of global significance.

7. Recognize and consider the ethics of choices and actions.

During one of our SerWIS meetings, our club leaders Lina and Hrithi thought of many ways in which we as a club can raise funds and awareness for those at Mercy Center, which is an organization which helps many children in need and also helping combating AIDS. One of the ideas which surfaced is to organize a dodgeball event during lunch time to raise funds to buy essential needs for them. As a club, me and my club mates worked under our leaders to set up everything and help run the dodgeball games smoothly.

3. Visiting the Mercy Center Children December 18, 2018

1. Identify your own strengths and develop areas for personal growth.

4. Show commitment to and perseverance in CAS experiences.

5. Demonstrate the skills and recognize the benefits of working collaboratively.

6. Demonstrate engagement with issues of global significance

7. Recognize and consider the ethics of choices and actions.

Along with my SerWIS club mates, club leaders and some teachers who came along, I was fortunate enough to meet some of the most amazing children ever. These children were born into very unfortunate situations but, still one thing that I remembered very clearly is that everyone of them always had smiles on their faces. They had such fun doing things and I really enjoyed that. I don't really like being around children because I find them very cranky but this was such an amazing experience I won't forget. It also brought many perspectives to my world. We had played with them, danced with them, had coloring acitivities with them and did many fun activities with them. In the end, it was an experience I cherished because of the time spent with them and because we are able to help them out, even if it is not a grand amount.

4. Helping Clean Up a Local On Nut Temple

November 2018

1. Identify your own strengths and develop areas for personal growth.

4. Show commitment to and perseverance in CAS experiences.

5. Demonstrate the skills and recognize the benefits of working collaboratively.

7. Recognize and consider the ethics of choices and actions.

In this trip with some of the seniors and juniors, we went with Ms. Aum and Mr. Nu to help a local temple around the On Nut area by doing things such as collecting trash, cleaning toilets and sweeping the floors for them.

bottom of page